19 Great Walking Tunes

Standard
19 Great Walking Tunes

My physiotherapist has told me that she doesn’t see me running again for at least a year.

Yup, a whole year.

While this is suckful, it’s also a bit of a wakeup call. It’s the reason that “physio” made my list of S.M.A.R.T. goals, even after I turned them into H.A.P.P.Y. goals. And while I can’t run, I can walk. And I have been walking. But walking needs the right tunes.

Every time I read one of Finola‘s posts with her running tunes, I resolve to write one with my walking tunes. So here it is.

115-119 BPM

  • Glory Days (Bruce Springsteen)
  • New Sensation (INXS)
  • Highway To Hell (ACDC) Great for uphill!
  • Heard It Through The Grapevine (California Raisins)
  • Every Breath You Take (The Police)
  • Funky Cold Medina (Tone Loc) Good lord did I really listen to this?
  • Lady Marmalade (Christina Aguilera?) LOVE this one. Also makes a great cha-cha.
  • It Never Woulda Worked Out Anyway (Brad Paisley) Hilarious.
  • I’m Every Woman (Chaka Khan) You go girl!
  • Graceland (Paul Simon) Such a great travellin’ song.
  • Respect (Aretha Franklin) Word!

120-124 BPM

  • Show Me Love (Robin S)
  • Get On Your Feet (Gloria Estefan)
  • You Give Love A Bad Name (Bon Jovi) I once karaoke’d this. Oh yes I did.
  • Conga (Gloria Estefan) Conga line not required. Not even encouraged.
  • 1985 (Bowling For Soup) Oh god, they’re singing about me.
  • Manic Monday (Bangles) See above.
  • Under Pressure. (Queen) I can’t tell you how relieved I was to learn that Vanilla Ice did NOT write this riff.
  • 100 Years (Five for Fighting) Great cool-down song.

Got any great walkin’ tunes?
What’s on YOUR play list?

3 responses

    • Likewise! If you’re willing to take the pace down a notch (or seven), we should hit those trails together sometime 🙂

  1. Good stuff – I exercise and do step at home and have a few different bpm for warm up/ cool down:
    Around the 120 bpm are these two faves:
    Relax by Frankie goes to hollywood
    Vogue by Madonn