H.A.P.P.Y. goals: the update

Standard
H.A.P.P.Y. goals: the update

I made some goals last week. They were my “H.A.P.P.Y. Goals“, and they were pretty modest:

  1. eat at least 3 servings of fruits & vegetables a day
  2. do something to elevate my heart rate every day
  3. do my physio
  4. check in with my fitness buddy every day
  5. check in with YOU by the end of next week to let you know how I’m doing

So here I am, to fulfill #5 while I tell you about the other 4.

So how did I do? Not too bad. I had a physio appointment yesterday, and my physiotherapist could totally tell I’ve been doing my exercises. Yay me! She also said I need my hips x-rayed (funny, most people I talk to tell me I need my head x-rayed).

I have also been WALKING. It’s been great. Not stupendously awesome, but still really great. And if there are two secrets to my success this week, they are:

  • exercise makes me feel good
  • my fitness buddy makes me exercise

Actually, these bear repeating. In great big bold letters:

  • exercise makes me feel good

  • my fitness buddy makes me exercise

The single smartest thing I did this week was hook up with my fitness buddy, Robin. We swapped emails about our goals, and kept tabs on each other through he week. ALL via email. Virtually zero effort. If you’re in a slump, I highly recommend it. Support groups are great, but there’s just something about one-on-one accountability that works for me.

And let me tell you, the “H.A.P.P.Y. goals” were a little tongue in cheek, but they have totally worked. I feel pretty damn good. Better than I have in a while. Mind you, knowing I have exactly one more shopping trip before I’m done my Christmas shopping may have something to do with that. But then, the increased energy has helped with the Christmas stuff. And with cleaning out the basement. And packing up the baby gear.

I’m getting on top of stuff. Life is good.

7 responses

  1. Well done. I just said something in a comment (response to a comment?!) on my own blog this morning about how much better I feel if I’m doing some exercise. Endorphins aside, I just feel healthier and fitter and stronger – not matter what I’ve done. I suspect it’s psychological – sense of accomplishment etc…

    I’d do even better if I was eating healthier as well – feel WAY more in control, but alas…. Glad the HAPPY goals are working.

    PS. I like the idea of a training buddy. I don’t really have anyone but the idea of a ‘virtual’ training buddy hadn’t occurred to me. Good one!

    Derb

    • It helps that my virtual training buddy is AWESOME :). But definitely, I find it makes a difference!

      And as for the exercise, it seems more research is out there demonstrating the benefits for dealing with depression. I have to say, I’m a believer!

  2. Pingback: 19 Great Walking Tunes « Sasha Loses It