This is not a S.M.A.R.T. goal

Standard
This is not a S.M.A.R.T. goal

Remember the post about SMART Goals? Of course you do. You read all my posts religiously. You probably even take notes.

*snort*

Yes, I snort at my own jokes. Someone has to.

But don’t worry, I won’t even make you follow the link to see what the hell I’m talking about. I heard about SMART goals from the amazing Dr. C., my totally awesome family doctor who rescued the story of the therapist from hell.

Yes, as all you religious readers will have noted, I do link back to the therapist from hell periodically frequently incessantly. It is my fondest wish that, one day, she be recognized by Google as the number 1 therapist from hell.

Anyhow, Dr. C. introduced me to  SMART goals as a means to cope with depression. Aside from using humour as a defense mechanism.

And finally, yes, I use humour as a defense mechanism. Please try to contain your astonishment.

SMART goals are:

Specific
Measurable
Attainable
Realistic, and
Timely

I didn’t tell Dr. C. this, but I also have another goal. It’s almost specific, it’s fairly measureable, I’m not sure it it’s attainable or realistic, and it definitely isn’t timely. During some seredipitous shelf-browsing at the library, I came across this book:


It’s called Unforgettable Walks To Take Before You Die. It covers everything from the Scottish Highlands to some really funky desert somewhere (at least, that’s what I assume from the cover – I haven’t finished reading it yet).

I can walk for fitness. That’s all well and good. But what about training for a hike through somewhere foreign, distant, and entirely fascinating? How cool would that be??

So for the moment, I’m looking for ideas. And I am *TOTALLY* open to suggestions.

Any ideas for great walking/hiking vacations?

featured image courtesy freeaussiestock.com

14 responses

  1. Squats are your new best friend. I first lost a ton of weight training to backpack the Grand Canyon. Next September, I’m going to do a 30 day hike in Northern Spain. Squats.
    Also, I’m always looking for a walking partner. I’m slow and steady.

    • Thanks Kerry. Will give that a shot. I’m actually getting into a pretty good walking habit at lunch hours, and throw in my physio afterwards – adding squats there would be a piece of cake.

      Northern Spain sounds absolutely awesome. I did some hiking in the south of France, near the border with Spain – Cathar country – before kids. Nothing like 30 days though – enjoy!

      And I will totally take you up on your offer. Gatineau Park some time? I’m all about the slow & steady.

    • And I forgot to mention! This post (and plan) was inspired in part by a post of yours – from NY, you were talking about making goals for yourself, I think going to the Met was one of them. Will have to go look that up again…

  2. you had me at ‘hike’!! I’ve done a bunch of hiking in the sadly distant past and have been really been missing it. this is a really great idea -just because if feels unattainable now, given kids and work and general lack of time/energy/motivation doesn’t mean it has to be so … There are lots of great things not far from here – DH and I did the Frontenac Challenge (hiking all the trails in Frontenac Park in the fall) two years running before the 5 year old and it would be an awesome early/localish goal. The Campostela is the one I’d dearly like to do …

    • Good point Cath – I have to remember there’s good hiking around here, too! Good training and just enjoyable. Have to admit I don’t even know where Frontenac Park is, guess I should look it up :). My first thought is, of course, Gatineau. I haven’t been in YEARS.

  3. Sasha I’m not a big fan of hiking, though like the idea of working your way through some of the ‘walks’ in the book. A goal of many keen (*insane*) hikers here in Oz is the Kokoda Trail in Papua New Guinea. Frankly I can’t think of anything worse!!!

    Although… I have fantasised about the cycling tour of Cinque Terra in Italy, which I don’t know much about other than the fact it involves five towns which look lovely in photographs. Although… I suspect it would be way better if done by car!

    Deb

    • I don’t really want to do anything too hard-core – something with a lot of walking and a lot to see is what I’m aiming for. I just want to train so that I can enjoy it!

    • Thanks Tudor. This is great – I love going to the UK, but I have never been to Wales. What’s more, some of my favourite fiction from my teens was set there, high-time I went I think! Thanks again!