S.M.A.R.T. Goals

Standard
S.M.A.R.T. Goals

I met with my family doc the other day, the one that provided such a helpful counterpoint to the therapist from hell. This time, we talked goals. Specifically, SMART goals.ย  SMART goals are:

Specific
Measurable
Attainable
Realistic, and
Timely

Makes sense, doesn’t it? And conveniently, I had been brainstorming some goals just that morning. They were:

  • journal my food
  • aim for a personal-best for calories every day until I get down to my goal range
  • recommit to the 100 club, burning 100+ extra calories every day for 100 days
  • do my physio exercises
  • do a plank a day
  • accept failure as reason to do better tomorrow
  • get enough sleep

I was about half-way through my list before Dr. C. started getting a little shifty. To his credit, he didn’t actually say “Whoa, Nellie!”, but the sentiment was there. The daily personal-best made him a little nervous and, as he pointed out, as the list gets longer, the whole Attainable/Realistic thing gets a little shaky.

Incidentally, I’m not really sure what the difference is between “Attainable” and “Realistic“. I suspect they’re both there because “SMAT Goals” doesn’t have the same ring to it.

Unless you’re from Boston. Bahston? I digress.

So here are the goals we settled on:

  • journal my food
  • burn an extra 100 calories a day
  • physio every day

Sound attainable? Sound realistic? Yeah. Except I’m not actually meeting them.

So time to refocus. I need SMART goals, goals I can meet, but I also need to feel good. When I feel good, I do better, and success breeds success. I need HAPPY goals!!! Happy goals:

Have
A
Plan to
Perk me into
Yodelling

Hey; if the so-called experts can shoehorn both Attainable and Realistic into their fancy-schmancy acronyms, then I get to Yodel.

So here are my HAPPY goals

  • eat at least 3 servings of fruits & vegetables a day. This is no where *close* to the 7-8 servings (!!) that the Canada Food Guide recommends, but it’s an improvement. Yeah, I’ve been eating that poorly. No wonder I feel gross.
  • do something to elevate my heart rate every day. I know this makes me happy. With any luck, it will make me really, really happy ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • do my physio. I’ve been really bad about this, but I still think it’s attainable and it also lays the foundation for more physical activity.
  • check in with my fitness buddy every day – no matter how I did that day

and last, but certainly not least

  • check in with YOU by the end of next week to let you know how I’m doing

What are YOU going to do to get HAPPY this week?
(Keep it clean, folks. Keep it clean. ;))

21 responses

  1. very attainable and I like the you revised them…and I really like the HAPPY goals ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS….S.M.A.R.T…always makes me think of my dearly departed father in law saying he was a FART SMELLER (smart fellow)….I know where did that come from right?

    • *snort*. Same place some of my ideas come from, I think. They hit you over the head like a dead fish, you just have to get them out ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great goals, Sasha! You’ve inspired me to rethink my own. Am I being realistic in what I’m striving for…not so sure.

    Thanks for your comment about this on my post. Appreciate the support. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Mel. Its a delicate balance, I think. You don’t get anywhere if you don’t push yourself, but then if you just get discouraged, where does that leave you? I have a history that’s long on ‘to-do’ lists, the ‘done’ lists are a problem. I don’t think that scaling back is such a bad thing – you can always crank it up with added momentum.

  3. These are awesome goals, especially the revised list. Plus once you’re doing them everyday you’ll feel a great sense of accomplishment and ‘bring on more’. I would like to get more sleep and plan all our meals (not just dinner)

    • Sounds like a plan! I know meal planning makes life easier around here, but there’s no way I’d manage more than just dinner. Breakfast is oatmeal, lunch is leftovers. End of story ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love the happy goals… and am all for yodelling. Am sure there isn’t enough yodelling in the world.. other than…. not sure, Swiss Alps or something.

    I think they are realistic – especially the fruit and vege one cos I’m like you. If I can eat SOME veges each day I’m happy.

    I look forward to hearing how you go.

    I might do some planning / goal-setting myself in the next week. (Not that I don’t over-think everything ANYWAY… but some realistic goals – even really short term ones – might help me at the moment!)

    Deb

    • So far so good! I think I need the instant (or at least somewhat immediate) gratification of happy goals. Something that’s just going to make me healthier in the long run just isn’t enough ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Katherine! I don’t think they’d fly in a professional setting, but I’m going to run with it anyhow ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Does it help if you eat the same thing every day? Then you don’t habe to thnk about what you are eating and you know it s good for you.

    • That’s an idea. I’m usually preoccupied with variety, not only can we not eat the same meal two days in a row, I’m usually aiming for a different cuisine/ethnicity every night. Perhaps I’m setting the bar too high :).

  6. Ohhh Sasha…

    How I love your blog! Love how real it is. I found you off of Jenn’s (1qtnewf) blog. Some solid stuff! I look forward to keepin in touch, missy.

    Happy goal? Hit up zumba this weekend… zumbzzz makes me ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Augustina! I have a confession to make though – I don’t actually know what zumba is.

      SHHHHH! Don’t tell! All the cool kids talk about it all the time, and I just smile and nod, like I actually know what they’re talking about. Don’t blow my cover!

  7. Pingback: 5 Veggie sides that I will actually make (and eat) « Sasha Loses It

  8. Pingback: This is not a S.M.A.R.T. goal « Sasha Loses It

  9. Pingback: H.A.P.P.Y. goals: the update « Sasha Loses It

  10. Pingback: 19 Great Walking Tunes « Sasha Loses It

  11. Pingback: Forgot the Fruits: 5 Fruity Ideas « Sasha Loses It

  12. Pingback: Barbara – I resolve to continue … | Losing It In Ottawa

  13. Pingback: This is not a S.M.A.R.T. goal | Rambling Notebook