The Bottom Line: Mom Was Right

Standard
The Bottom Line: Mom Was Right

How many times did your mother tell you that if you were actually hungry, you’d eat your over-cooked broccoli, instead of ‘saving room’ for chocolate cake?

Well, as much as it pains me to admit it, I have turned into my mother. I can’t count the number of times today that I have wanted to hit the snack machine, or the pile of hallowe’en candy that some foul temptress kind soul left by the water cooler. (I’m there to fill my water bottle!! How is that fair??)

BUT, I have a package of lentil soup in the fridge. It’s even a really yummy lentil soup. (Not as yummy as this lentil soup, but still pretty darn tasty). So instead of caving to the cravings I have decided that, until I eat that soup, no snacking. And I don’t really want the soup right now, so clearly I’m not hungry enough.

What happens after the soup is gone? I don’t know. There’s an awful lot of soup.

I know it’s going to take a lot more than just skipping a chocolate bar to get me anywhere, but this is a huge improvement over recent behaviour. Why the change in attitude? Well, it can hardly be a coincidence that I stepped on the scale this morning – and I’m up another 2.5 pounds. Yikes. This accountability thing is getting awfully embarrassing.

The bottom line:

11 responses

  1. That’s an excellent approach, and a great reason for me to think about making more homemade lunches to have in the fridge at work. (Also, I really like the way you present the bottom line, not to mention the big green arrow at the end of it :)).

    Go Sasha Go!

  2. Soup idea is brilliant…filling and cozy all be it a bit gassy LOL 🙂 I say this from experience having downed 3 bowls myself today!

    Yeah for you for baring all …and may I point out the last column…still an overall loss! Your going to figure this all out in a way that is healthy and keeps you sane 🙂

    • Yeah, when I made that red lentil soup I was about 3/4 of the way through the batch when I told DH he better take some before it was gone. I was going to make a big double batch today but the meatloaf experiment I mentioned on FB used up all my garlic! ARRRRGGGGHHH!

  3. Sasha

    I’m on a weight loss program and struggling a bit at the moment, but in my first 12wk round I had a good loss (18.7kg) and I was SO motivated. I’d finally gotten to that point where I focussed more on my hunger than the type of foods that excited me… so for the first time in my life I was happy with scrambled eggs for dinner – because I was hungry and they would be filling. (Rather than buttery popcorn, takeaway or junk food – which I would have previously turned to for a quick fix!)

    Sadly, I’ve lost that at the moment but hope to get back there!

    Deb

    • Wow! That’s an awesome loss! Good for you! It does get harder after the honeymoon phase, though, doesn’t it? Ugh.

  4. Accountability is good but also, don’t be so hard on yourself. Every journey, weight loss or not, has ups and downs. There is never a straight line moving steadily upwards until you reach your goal. It’s more a line that was drawn by a drunken person after riding the world’s largest roller coaster and then put through an aerobics class. It’s all over the place. So long as you keep moving forward, you’ll be great.

    • Thanks Sharon! And would you please tell me how you knew that I just stepped off the Mindbuster with an empty bottle in my hand before stumbling into step class this morning? That’s what it feels like, anyhow. I know it’s not what actually happened – I haven’t been near a step class since the late 90’s. 😛

  5. That’s some smart thinking. I like soup and soup is healthy so I think having a big pot of soup in the fridge is a good guage to whether I’m really hungry or not. And I suppose the salty, comfort food also known as Campbell’s chicken noodle doesn’t count? 😉

    • I don’t know, it still beats some of the other options. Chocolate chips, for instance. Although I’m starting to think I’m going to have to hide the chocolate chips behind the soup if this is going to work. Actually, that’s not a bad idea…

  6. Sooooo good!
    I play games with myself all the time. Drink water, then I get coffee. Drink water, then I get a treat. Eat my veggies, then I get my pudding LOL
    And I’ve found that when I’m hydrated and fueled, my cravings TOTALLY change.
    I’m all into trickery.