100 Club

Standard
100 Club

I’m in a bit of a slump.

Okay, so maybe it’s more like a cross between a free-fall and a mudslide. Either way, one thing I’ve been thinking about is that there’s too much thinking going on here.

I’ve also been thinking about the above statement and it’s making my brain hurt.

So let’s start again: I’m in a slump. And I’m not going to think about it. Instead, I’m going to do something. I’m going to join Miss Fish’s 100 Club Challenge. It’s about fitness – physical and mental. It’s about doing. It’s exactly what I need right now. My goal is simple, modest, and hence (presumably) doable: burn an 100 extra calories every day for the next 100 days.

Tomorrow, it will be a walk at lunch. I’ve already checked the weather, my runners are even at the office already. THERE WILL BE NO EXCUSES. I even have a plan B: 100 calories on the Wii in the evening if the walk doesn’t pan out.

I know I can’t think myself into a new way of living. It’s time to start living it.

Are you up for the challenge?

13 responses

    • Exactly! I have a history of setting lofty goals and then getting discouraged – but I have a funny feeling that if I just get my butt moving, it’ll be more than 100 calories, a whole lot of the time! Thanks!

  1. I followed Andrea’s retweet here. The quote in your post…wow…so very true and exactly what I need to focus on! I am going to start living too!

    • Welcome Ginger! I love that quote, it applies to so many things. I think Richard Rohr was actually talking about charity. I first saw it on a t-shirt of DH’s, it hits me every time I see it.

  2. I LOVE this! 100 for 100! and for me, the 100 days is quite daunting, so I just do today… It’s all I can handle on the mental side… I too have folded in some leisurely walking – I’m in a situation where I can walk to work (when I don’t need my car for meetings and stuff). It is soooooo lovely! It relaxes my mind, reminds me to breathe, and is good for the body and soul.
    Good for you and ENJOY!

    • I thought the “small actions” approach might appeal to you, Kris :).

      That’s so great that you can walk to work – I hope you can do that through the winter too! (Pretty daunting prospect here in Ottawa!). We moved a year or so ago, the new place was partially selected because I can not just cycle to work, but do so along recreational paths almost the whole way. Now I just need to do my physio through the winter so that I can hop on the bike in the spring!!

  3. Small actions matter! That’s what we say over at MeYou Health and DailyChallenge.com. 100 extra calories a day is awesome. Is this going to be all movement based? For me, that’s a challenge… but I could cut 100 calories from my day if I had to. Funny how that works.

    I so love this idea. 100. That’s it. It all adds up too! Taking the stairs, going for a walk at lunch, taking the long way home… 🙂

    Best of luck!
    Alicia

  4. Hi Sasha

    I’ve been in a bit of a slump (and indeed more like a mudslide; or even avalanche) of late when it comes to health and fitness. I’ve been reading comments/tweets/updates by so many saying they are feeling the same way. I wonder if it’s an ‘end of year’ thing… or whether we are all just so disillusioned that we doubt ourselves too much.

    Who the hell knows…. well done on your goal though! Am trying to find something to motivate myself for the next month or two (or three, or ten…)

    Deb

    • Hi Deb,

      Maybe that’s it, I don’t know. Around here the days are getting shorter, although I suppose the opposite is happening in your neck of the woods. I know historically, for me, motivation tends to ebb and flow over time – what I’m hoping is that this time, by keeping myself immersed in the ‘healthy lifestyle’ mentality, mainly through blogging and twitter, that I will keep from completely succumbing to the mudslide. So far, it seems to help. Do you find blogging does that for you?

      Sasha

      • Yes… my blog posts are relatively anonymous (people on my weight-loss program know about my blog, but friends outside of that world don’t) so I can be frighteningly honest. It seems pointless to lie there and I do feel that I can ‘offload’ a little.

        I enjoy the Twitter and FB camaraderie, though sometimes feel a bit overwhelmed (dare I say jealous) when I read about those doing 2 exercise classes a day and losing heaps of weight, as I feel like more of a failure. BUT… I’m trying to work on a little pre-Christmas plan and focus LESS on the deadlines of my current weight loss program (only a month to go and I have failed miserable this time around!). Am pretty sure I can hit my double digit goal (ie. weigh less than 100kg) by then.

        Hope to refocus around that! (Yay for goals!)