Taking Stock

Standard
Taking Stock

This blog is missing something, and that something is accountability. I have decided to start by taking stock:

I am 38 years old. I think. What year is it again?

I have two beautiful daughters and a husband who loves me. Together we share a home with an over-excitable bird, two under-excitable cats, and the pawprint of a third cat whose departure is recent enough that I refuse to leave him out of any stock-taking.

I am five feet five inches tall. In January of this year, I weighed 233 pounds, and this summer I was down to 204 pounds. Last Monday I weighed in, for the first time in weeks (months?), at 210 pounds. I have not been counting calories, I have not been active. I have not been trying. I have had some issues that I’m working on. But it’s time to start working on this issue.

I have good reasons to get fit.

I have been thinking a lot about what it was in January that helped me get the ball rolling. Somehow I set myself on the right path, and it almost seemed so easy that I wondered how on earth I had gotten so fat to begin with. It wasn’t a new years resolution (I don’t believe in them). It wasn’t seeing a photo of myself, or someone else’s success story. It wasn’t a dress I wanted to wear, a person I wanted to impress, or a marathon I wanted to run.

It was nothing but a day, after a string of days scattered over months, where I had set out with a plan to track my food – and then given up. Some times by mid-morning. Sometimes I lasted to (or even through) dinner. But time after time, it didn’t stick.

And then, one day, it stuck. I expect it was sheer probability: try something for long enough, and sooner or later it’s bound to work.

So this is what I’m going to do. No grand plans, no big resolutions. Tomorrow, I will get up, and weigh myself. I will post an update. I will record everything I eat. And if I fall, I will pick myself up and try again. It’s got to work eventually.

15 responses

    • Yes – and that really applies to everything, doesn’t it? It’s depressing sometimes, when it feels like a slog, but freeing and the same time.

  1. Good plan Sasha. You’ll get there and I don’t believe in beating myself up. I just start each day fresh. It will work for you. It will.

    • Thanks Chantal. It’s tough to strike the right balance between being realistic and hyper-self-critical. That’s awesome that you start each day fresh – good for you.

  2. one foot in front of the other….even you stop and take a break or veer of path…eventually one foot in front of the other will get you there…ps. that was a refreshing honest real post 🙂 Good work 🙂

  3. I love this blog post. It’s good to take stock every now and again to remind us of what we’re doing this for. Keep pushing and never ever give up.

  4. Pingback: It wasn’t pretty. « Sasha Loses It

    • Thanks Donna! I did log into MFP – I’m surprised it didn’t say something snarky to me. I’m willing to bet the Wii will if I step on it!

      And you can make this decision, too!! Yesterday was abysmal on the actual numbers front. But I think it’s hammering my head back into a new (or old) way of thinking. There’s a new post coming on that…. #teaser

      S:)

  5. Great attitude Sasha! Love the ‘no great plans’ mantra. I’m big on planning, but less-so on the follow through… and am tired of being ‘all-talk’! Better to not make grandiose promises I suspect!

    • Thanks Deb! I am an inveterate planner and list-maker. Staying away from all that worked so well for the first half of the year, I don’t know why but I still find myself doing it now!! It’s an attitude I will need to shake, I think, to get anywhere.

  6. Pingback: The Bottom Line: Mom Was Right « Sasha Loses It

  7. Pingback: The Bottom Line: Mom Was Right | Rambling Notebook