Got Fattitude?

Standard
Got Fattitude?

The Urban Dictionary defines “Fattitude” thus:

The loud, boisterous, obnoxious arrogance often displayed by large and/or obese women.

How very unfortunate. Because that is not what I mean. At. All.

Well, here we are: my blog, my rules (I knew there was a reason I liked blogging). ‘Round these parts, this is what Fattitude means:

Fattitude is not exercising because you’re too tired. We all know it doesn’t work that way, right? Right?!?!

Fattitude is wearing oversized clothes, as though they are capable of hiding something. If you’re shirt touches your stomach, people will be able to see that you’re fat.

Fattitude is hiding at home, rather than risk judgement. Psst! Nobody’s judging you. Really.

Fattitude is planning and planning and planning instead of taking life by the balls and just DOING IT.

Fattitude is seeing weightloss as a short term goal, instead of a lifestyle. Treat it like it’s short term, and that’s exactly what it will be.

Fattitude is the baggage that stops me from hitting “Publish”. What will people think?

Some days, I just get mired in fattitude.

But not today.

What does fattitude mean to you?

12 responses

  1. Fattitude is not doing things that are fun and living to regret it…virtually no pictures of me with my kids, what, me wear a swimsuit. That was last summer…I’m over myself. bring on the fun!

    • Donna, you are right!!! There is already a big swath of my girl’s lives where I’m missing, at least in the photographic record. I have to fix that. Well, change that. It makes me very sad now to realize that I can’t fix it.

  2. SHOUT IT!!! Hiding…check done that. Wearing big clothes to hide…check done that. Planning, wising, dreaming….NEXT MONDAY…done that. Time to banish the Fattitude and bring the TUDE πŸ™‚
    Loved this.

  3. Thanks Krista! I got all depressed when I actually looked it up and found the *other* definition, and shelved the post. Then I realized it was the fattitude talking again ;).

  4. That other def is part of the problem. It’s not obnoxious to take care of yourself, get out there, or grab life by the balls and make your life what you want it to be. But I’m aware that the urban dictionary attitude exists about fat women, and it helps to keep me in the closet, so to speak. I’ll try to remember your def next time…

    • Hi Wordy :). I know what you mean, “assertiveness” is often recast as “obnoxiousness”. Sometimes the assessment is fair, but it usually says more about the person making the assessment. Either definition is negative, I think what I like better about mine is I get to own it – and defeat it. There’s nothing, I think, to do with the other but ignore it.

    • Thanks Chantal! It takes some work, but I’m sure it can be done! I think the trick may be just to recognize it and kick it back to the curb whenever it shows up again. Reminds me of that Gloria Gaynor song, I Will Survive: “I should have change that stupid lock, I should have made you leave your key”. I think I’ll sing that the next time it comes around *g*