Dress for the job you want.

Standard

I’ve heard it said that you should dress for the job you want, not the one you have. Well, see this stack of T-shirts?

They all have this little label in them:

Yep, maternity t-shirts. They are sitting in a pile on my dresser. My baby is now 10 months old. The last time I wore one of these?

Tuesday.

And “pregnant” is not a job I’m currently seeking.

The good news is that they are at least on their way to the basement, where they will sit while I deliberate on whether to apply for that job again or not.

I have always favoured loose clothing, to the point of ill-fitting. It probably dates back to the sloppy sweatshirts of the 8th grade, when I thought I could hide the body I didn’t like inside them. But I don’t know who I thought (and apparently still think) I was fooling with them.

And to complicate matters, aside from what’s in this stack, I don’t have any workout tank tops. I do, on the other hand, have an abhorrence for farmer’s tan (a vanity made even more ridiculous by the fact that I don’t go sleeveless anywhere else).

But here’s the thing – I’m not fooling anybody. And I know this. Every once in a while I try to do something about it, try to step outside my comfort zone, and I guess this is one of those times.

I am currently sitting in a Second Cup, relishing a few baby-free moments and cursing the intermittent WiFi. Here is what I am going to do when I get home:

  • Take those t-shirts to the basement.
  • Take myself to the mall and get some workout clothes that fit.
  • Celebrate. With a walk in my fancy new duds. (It seems I’m warming up to this new reward system)

How do you take yourself out of your comfort zone? What are you doing for “you” you want?

3 responses

  1. I bought a dress and this year I have decided it’s ok for me to wear shorts and skorts. I have a really hard time with showing off my knees and legs – I think they’re really ugly. But this year… I’m doing it anyways! 🙂

    Good for you for moving the maternity clothing downstairs. I think Kiernan was about 10 months old when someone asked me when I was due and I realized I had to get those shirts the hell away 😉

  2. Good for you! Another thing that inspired me recently was watching some girls walk into the mall in skirts. It just looked so darn cool and comfy. I need to find some that I can wear shorts under tho – and for comfort, not modesty 😛

    Urgh. People need to think twice before asking things like that. That being said, catching a glimpse of myself in the mirror in profile made me think the exact same thing – but it’s funny how I had to physically remove them from the room not to wear them anymore.

  3. Pingback: Teeny Tiny Tidy-Up Tuesday Post (on a really BIG subject) « Rambling Notebook